Baby I Could Build a Castle Out of All the Bricks they Threw at Me.

rails dressrailsdress

I know, I know, it’s been FOREVER.

But moving on.  I love the east coast in the fall, and how awesome it feels to be walking through the fallen leaves, not too hot and not too cold in a crisp fall look.  And this dress is my favorite fall find.

I mean, look at the fringe!!!

This dress is also exceptional in that it was pulled for me by a salesperson, and anyone who knows me knows that I usually hate the suggestions salespeople make.  I am a master shopper.  I have perused the floor.  You do not know me.  If I didn’t pull it, there was probably a reason.

But then this wonderful saleslady shows me this plaid Rails shirt dress all, “What do you think about this?” and I say GIMME GIMME GIMME.  That is the moment we fell in love (me and the dress I mean.  I’m sure the saleslady is a lovely person too).

Rails is a brand known for their super-comfy, super-casual plaid shirts.  This high-fashion take on their staple was not something I expected from them, so I was very excited.  It was very reasonably priced for such a fashion-y piece and is, of course, very soft.

It’s a little straight up-and-down and maybe one day I’ll wear it with a belt, but I think I prefer to keep the accessories super minimal.  This look needed to be all about the dress, so I went with some simple faux-diamond studs and my go-to silver bangle.  Edgy stacked heels ground it.  Although it’s not shown here, I naturally carried my staple black Stella McCartney Falabella bag with silver hardware.

What I’m wearing:

  • Rails dress
  • Charlotte Russe shoes
  • Earrings from M2 boutique
  • Michael Michael Kors bracelet

And as I wear every day, my Aunt Florence’s watch.  Since I’ve last posted I’ve added a new personal piece to my every day wear, an Alex and Ani “Love” bangle I got at my internship at Girl’s Life Magazine this past summer.

Title is a line from “New Romantics” by Taylor Swift.  It’s been so long since my last post I’ve barely gotten to gush about or use lyrics from 1989.

railsdress2 railsdress3

Happy fall and happy Halloween everyone! ❤

2 thoughts on “Baby I Could Build a Castle Out of All the Bricks they Threw at Me.

Leave a comment