Summer 2016!

zara joie

Outfit 1:

  • Zara jacket
  • Halogen t-shirt from Nordstrom
  • Joie skirt
  • J. Crew Factory flats
  • Ann Taylor necklace
  • Kate Spade New York bracelet
  • MICHAEL Michael Kors earrings

f21 dress

Outfit#2:

  • Forever 21 dress and earrings
  • J. Crew cardigan
  • J. Crew Factory flats
  • Stella McCartney bag
  • Tiffany & Co. necklace
  • Ann Taylor bracelet

jcrewskirt

Outfit #3:

  • J. Crew Collection skirt
  • J. Crew cardigan
  • Halogen t-shirt from Nordstrom
  • Sam & Libby for Target flats
  • Steve Madden bag
  • Kate Spade New York bracelet and earrings
  • Necklace from a jewelry sale at school

 

I know I haven’t posted in pretty much forever, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been dressing fabulously.  Quite the contrary, actually.  I feel like my style really evolves with each passing year, and the major shift I’ve noticed lately is that it’s becoming a little more about the clothes and shoes than the bags and jewelry (though all are still important).  Those who know me often think of me with a bright statement necklace and a massive collection of bags, and that’s not inaccurate.  However, lately I’ve found myself gravitating to the same, more basic (for me that’s a really relative term) bags and jewels to compliment my ever-more statement making outfits.

As I always say, one of the things that really makes an outfit is what you do in it.  That’s something I love about my summer style–my looks are often accessorized by really fun plans and places to go, not just condemned to a day in the library.  I know I’ve posted lots of looks here, but I’d like to take a moment to tell you about where I wore, and what I love most about, each one.

Outfit #1: Rocked this for a fun day off of work that consisted of shopping, the movies, and lunch out with my mom, followed by a night in with a girlfriend I hadn’t seen in ages.  The cropped, butterfly-appliqued jacket and the jean skirt are both very recent acquisitions and I’m obsessed with them.  I wasn’t really feeling the whole jean skirt trend before I found this Joie one.  All the ones I had seen previously either reminded me of the unflattering minis I wore all of 9th grade or threatened to be dowdy.  This one is amazing.  The a-line shape isn’t clingy at all, so it’s comfy and super flattering.  The big pockets, buttons, and braided waist are such fun details.  I’m overwhelmed with ideas for ways to wear it all year round.

Outfit #2:  Rocked this for yet another fun day out with my mom, which concluded with a play downtown.  I have an addiction to Forever 21 floral dresses.  I have way too many in my closet, but I knew I had to buy this one when I put it on.  I feel so beautiful in it, and I love how it’s kind of pinup-girl-meets-Blair-Waldorf.

Outfit #3:  This was a work look for my magazine internship.  I scored this fantastic skirt at the J. Crew on Madison Avenue when I was in NYC with my mom on the way home from college.  The mint and lilac hues are my two faves, and the metallic shimmer is gorgeous.

Outfit #4: My first-day-of-work look!  The moment I got this Marissa Webb shirtdress (over winter break) I knew I’d wear it to start off my internship.  How cool is it with these embellished loafers?  This dress is one of my favorite things in my closet because it can be styled in so many ways.  It’s great as a dress, but I’ve also worn it like a jacket, partially buttoned, with jeans or shorts and tights.

Outfit #5:   I rocked this Express suit to a political event.  Like the Marissa Webb dress, this suit gets unexpected edge from the studded shoes and is one of my closet MVPs.  It’s almost as cute broken up (the jacket with a black pleather skirt or the pants with a great blouse) as it is together.   I love the bold-but-sophisticated statement it makes worn as a full suit the most, though.  A printed suit shows you’re a real fashion risk-taker.

Outfit #6:  So funny story, this was part cute outfit, part kind-of-costume.  The outfit was inspired by the character of Norma Bates from Bates Motel (played by the incredible Vera Farmiga) and I rocked this to a Walking Dead convention where a couple Bates actors were doing meet-and-greets.  No, I do not watch The Walking Dead.  Yes, I do love Bates Motel that much.  But I also love this skirt so much and love the way I look when I wear it, so this is an outfit I would totally wear in regular life, anyway.  What made it more Norma than me was the addition of the belt–and taking this style cue from a fictional character made me realize I should belt skirts and dresses more!

I hope to do more outfit posts this summer.  Hope your season is off to a fabulous start!

marissawebb

Outfit #4:

  • Marissa Webb dress
  • Circus by Sam Edelman loafers
  • MICHAEL Michael Kors bracelet
  • Forever 21 earrings
  • Valentino necklace charms on a chain from M2 Boutique

expressuit

Outfit #5:

  • Express suit
  • J. Crew Factory top
  • Circus by Sam Edelman loafers
  • Kate Spade New York earrings
  • Necklace from M2 Boutique
  • Bracelet from Clique boutique
  • Bare Minerals Moxie lipstick in Live It Up

norma

Outfit #6:

  • J. Crew Collection cardigan
  • J. Crew Factory top
  • Skirt from Paris in Montana boutique
  • Cole Haan belt (stolen from Mom)
  • Sam & Libby for Target sandals
  • Kate Spade New York Earrings
  • Bracelet from Clique boutique

Leave a comment